AMD FX 8300

Hello, 

As this will be my first ever PC! I am wanting to buy a pc of my friend and this is the processor they have. Yes i know its not the best but as i am a student and will only be googling for information and accessing google classroom i am wanting to see if its any good?

many thanks

What do you mean by good? Its a low end cpu from like 5 years ago. 

It will play most games ok these day, but your not gonna have the best experience, and it will struggly to hit 60fps in some new games. 

It will play older games fine, but basically everything will to.

Whats your total budget? It wouldn't pay too much for it.

How much are you paying for it? If it's only for schoolwork/browsing it's more than fine.

Gaming Build:

CPU: Ryzen 7 3800x   |  GPU: Asus ROG STRIX 2080 SUPER Advanced (2115Mhz Core | 9251Mhz Memory) |  Motherboard: Asus X570 TUF GAMING-PLUS  |  RAM: G.Skill Ripjaws DDR4 3600MHz 16GB  |  PSU: Corsair RM850x  |  Storage: 1TB ADATA XPG SX8200 Pro, 250GB Samsung 840 Evo, 500GB Samsung 840 Evo  |  Cooler: Corsair H115i Pro XT  |  Case: Lian Li PC-O11

Peripherals:

Monitor: LG 34GK950F  |  Sound: Sennheiser HD 598  |  Mic: Blue Yeti  |  Keyboard: Corsair K95 RGB Platinum  |  Mouse: Logitech G502

Laptop:

Asus ROG Zephryus G15

Ryzen 7 4800HS, GTX1660Ti, 16GB DDR4 3200Mhz, 512GB nVME, 144hz

NAS:

QNAP TS-451

6TB Ironwolf Pro

Im paying £280 for the PC do you want the specs? 

1 minute ago, tiaJUSTtia said:

Im paying £280 for the PC do you want the specs? 

sure, IDk what prices are in your area, but thats probably a ok price then.

8 minutes ago, Electronics Wizardy said:

What do you mean by good? Its a low end cpu from like 5 years ago. 

It will play most games ok these day, but your not gonna have the best experience, and it will struggly to hit 60fps in some new games. 

It will play older games fine, but basically everything will to.

Whats your total budget? It wouldn't pay too much for it.