Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

QHY IMG132E - Anyone managed any decent planetary images with it?

lukebl

Hi all,

I've been imaging for a few years now, but just can't get crisp planetary images. I did have a DFK 21AU618.AS, but sold it in a rash moment, then got a QHY IMG132E despite reading no positive reviews about it. I think I was seduced by the small pixel size, which I thought might give me sharper images. Here's my best effort so far, from last night, 1st February 2013.

I managed 10ms exposures at a frame rate of 25 fps. 250mm f/4.8 Reflector, 3x Televue Barlow. This is the result of 2000 frames stacked in Registax

It's just not sharp at all, and wondered if this about all I can expect. Has anyone produced decent planetary images with one? I know that it's possible to get some really excellent crisp detailed planetary images with a 10" Newtonian (Someone on this forum does it, but I cant find his images at the moment), and I don't expect the results to be as good as a C14. But it can't just be seeing, inexperience or collimation, as I've been doing this for years, collimation is good but I still can't get the results that others are acheiving with a 10" Newt.

Or is the QHY IMG132E as bad as I think it is?

8437868417_9356814fdd.jpg

Thanks Roger.

Some nice images there, but I'm still not convinced by the IMG132. Hardly anyone seems to use them and although I can get reasonably fast capture times of 1/100 sec at 25 fps, they're always 'soft'. Probably operator error, but expect this to appear in the classified section soon for someone else to have a go it.

I had another try last night - (I use 7ms exposure and gain of 100) - and normally capture 10,000 frames at about 65fps using firecapture - I had to drop to 5000 frames last night so i could get in the gaps between the clouds!:

2February2013Jupiter.jpg

Still not as good as most of the Images you see on here (and elseware!) with the same scope set-up but different camera.