NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Why is QHY8 so cheap?

I'm rather foolishly looking at long term plans for upgrading my DSO imaging set up. I presently have a modified Canon 1100D. It strikes me that logical next step would be to get a mono CCD camera for taking luminance/narrow band data to add to that captured with the DSLR. The QHY8 seems to me to be by far the cheapest DSLR chip sized CCD camera available. Why the price difference?

Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk

Its quite an old camera and it's not without it's share of problems. Sensor icing and chip orthogonality are the ones that seem to come up regularly. Both issues are manageable, but not for a complete newbie.

Luckily, QHY's quality control and design have some on massively since this generation of camera was launched.

The QHY8 has been replaced by the QHY8 Pro.  It has the same chip, improved cooling and it has a new narrow barrel body, to better support Farstar / Hyperstar imaging.

You also have the QHY8L, which is now £ 999,-.

Both are colour cameras. The OP is looking for a mono.

The nearest equivalent is probably the QHY9. It's still the old design. 8.9 megapixels, big sensor.

Yeah qhy9 is probably the nearest mono but £1500 just for the camera, lol. You also need the filters and filter wheel... Mono/LRGB/Narrowband is expensive!

It's useful to have a look over the qhy forum to see what, if any, problems people have had with their cameras: http://qhyccd.com/ccdbbs/index.php?board=5.0

Also, maybe check out the sensor characteristics, camera cooling, etc. As a osc ccd newbie I've found it quite different to imaging with a dslr!

Louise