NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Uv/ ir cut filter

geordie85

I've been imaging with a qhy183c camera for a few months now and recently came across a post on here that was directed at a member using a OSC CMOS camera from asi that said something along the lines of "because your using a OSC camera, you'll need to use a uv/ ir cut filter". 

It was said that it will makes stars sharper. I do notice a slight bloating to my stars which has lead me to wonder maybe I should be using a uv/ ir cut filter. I don't use a light pollution filter as i sold my idas a short while back (which I do regret) so my question is, do I need one? 

9 hours ago, geordie85 said:

I've been imaging with a qhy183c camera for a few months now and recently came across a post on here that was directed at a member using a OSC CMOS camera from asi that said something along the lines of "because your using a OSC camera, you'll need to use a uv/ ir cut filter". 

It was said that it will makes stars sharper. I do notice a slight bloating to my stars which has lead me to wonder maybe I should be using a uv/ ir cut filter. I don't use a light pollution filter as i sold my idas a short while back (which I do regret) so my question is, do I need one? 

Its actually the other way around OSC tends to come with a UV/IR cut and mono tends to have a clear sensor window.

Bloating will be your optics or using the camera at too high a gain. 

10 hours ago, Thalestris24 said:

Hi

I think it normally comes with a uv/ir blocking glass window but can optionally be fitted with AR glass that passes uv/ir. If you bought it in its standard form, then no worries.

Louise

Thank you. You just saved me some money. 

1 hour ago, Adam J said:

Its actually the other way around OSC tends to come with a UV/IR cut and mono tends to have a clear sensor window.

Bloating will be your optics or using the camera at too high a gain.