Chenowth Desert Patrol Vehicle Restoration

Lawdog734

RDC Crypto
Hello folks - new member here, so be gentle. I thought I'd take a moment to show you what I've been working on for the past several months. I saved a Chenowth Desert Patrol Vehicle and Chenowth SEAL "Squad" Vehicle that was destined for the scrap yard. They've seen better days, but they're definitely worth saving to preserve a piece of military history.

Nope, I won't be racing it like many of you guys do, but this website has been a wealth of info and I hope that I can get your input on some of the components on the vehicle. I figured these vehicles have had a rough life, so now it's time for a quiet retirement on the dirt roads and pastures near my house.

In some cases, it's obvious that they're not your run of the mill performance VW parts, so I hope that some of you might be able to assist. I posted this in this forum (Vintage) because I'm hoping that since it's a Magnum DR2 based vehicle, some of you would be familiar with them.

So for a little bit of history, I've had plans over the previous eight or none months of building a SEAL Desert Patrol Vehicle. Since Chenowth is out of business and there aren't exactly a glut of used chassis's out there, I originally decided the way to do it was via purchasing a Chenowth 4LWD setup and build it up accordingly. I've seen several "Desert Patrol Vehicles" for sale over the years and usually while they might be called a Desert Patrol Vehicle, in some cases even with a correct chassis, they aren't built to spec and that disappoints me. It's almost like getting an old military jeep, painting it a shoddy green color and putting street tires on it and passing it off as correct- if you're going to do it, then do it right. So that was my intention, build it as close to spec as possible.